50th Jubilee Celebration and 2015 Central Awards

Saturday the 5th December 2015 Squash Central celebrated their 50th anniversary with 115 current and past members.  The celebrations were kicked off with some top Central Rep talent in Annaleise and Corbin Faint, Kaitlyn Watts and Jason van der Walt.

 The AGM was a quick affair with President Grant Smith and Treasurer Rob Browrigg stepping down after 2 years service.  They have worked hard for the district and their input has been invaluable.  Rod Bannister of Wanganui has been elected as the new President of Squash Central while the Treasurers position is still to be filled in the next few weeks.  All of the committee remains with the addition of Pete Mischefski from Stratford a welcome addition.  The committee will meet in February but planning is under way for the 2016 season.

Following the AGM we had our second induction to the Hall of Fame with the following inductees -  Glenn Carson, Rebecca Barnett, Joshua Greenfield and Kashif Shuja all being recognised for their efforts on the world stage.  The induction was followed by the Awards dinner.  Congratulations to all nominees especially those that received High Commendations and awards winners.

Squash Central Awards Winners:
  • Player of the year – Luke Jones
  • Most improved junior player – Nico Cowley
  • Most improved senior player – Warren johnson
  • Services/player – women masters – Dianne Tasker
  • Services/player –men masters – Rob Brownrigg
  • Personality of the year – Heather Plank
  • Coach of the year – Kashif Shuja
  • Administrator of the year – Trish Castle and Diana Bowie
  • District club of the year - Ohakune
  • Volunteer/contribution to squash – John Laurenson
  • Team of the year – SquashGym B grade Men's team and Wanganui C grade Men's team
  • Referee – Mike Jack
To see all the images from the event check out the Gallery.