Two Take National Champion of Champion Titles


Congrats to our 2 overall winners Nash Jordan in the Men’s F grade and Dave Grant in the Men’s D grade!

Coming into the finals day the Central rep team held a 5 point lead over Auckland however we had 3 Central team members that had completed all of their matches on Saturday so it was always going to be a tight race for the District ? trophy after winning it in 2017!

Central results for day 3: (Central names first)

A men: Kashif Shuja lost v Luke Jones (SquashGym) 1/3
B Men: Dylan Budge lost v Riley Jack (Northland) 0/3
D Men: Dave Grant won v Matthew Ward (Bay of Plenty) 3/0
E Men: Jack Shearer lost to Tom Quinn (Eastern) 0/2, injury withdrawal 
C women: Trin McCarthy lost v Tina Rangi (Eastern) 1/3
E women: Alana O’Connor lost v Sayge Wikohika (Ohakune) 2/3.

Central team player of the day goes to Whanganui’s Dave Grant who not only won his division but continued his unbeaten run for the season.

Final District team points:

Auckland 35
Central 33
Northland 26
Eastern 23
Bay of Plenty 10
Southland 7
Waikato 3. 

A Big thank you to John Laurenson and his wonderful tournament crew for hosting this event for a second consecutive year, another success and we all look forward to year 3 at the same venue!